August 17, 2022

When to Call the Police After a Mississippi Car Accident

Car accidents are often overwhelming and extremely terrifying. Since these incidents are typically unexpected, the shock and distress you may feel in the direct aftermath could make clear thinking difficult. However, there are several things that individuals involved in crashes should do to protect their own interests, and then there are things that they must do to be in compliance with the law.

After a Mississippi car accident, once you have secured the other driver’s information and you have promptly seen your doctor, you can call the Southaven auto accident attorney at the Germany Law Firm, PLLC. You can meet with attorney Bob Germany to learn more about your rights and how to obtain the compensation you need for your damages.

Mississippi Auto Accident Laws

, When to Call the Police After a Mississippi Car Accident, Germany Law Firm PLLCAutomobile accidents are a common occurrence in the United States and are a major source of injuries and death reported every year throughout the country. Mississippi in specific is a state that consistently ranks either at the top of the fatal car accidents per capita that take place every year or near that level. As a result, if you drive in and around the state, you should be aware of what is expected of you after a crash.

If your crash is catastrophic and there is death or severe injuries, it is critical to call 9-1-1 and get the rapid help of first responders to the scene immediately. But, even if there is no cataclysmic harm done, if there are still injuries, the law makes it necessary to call the police. Also, if property damages are more than $500, the law mandates that calling the police is expected. Failure to call the police at the crash scene means that you will have only 10 days to file a crash report.

Another situation where it makes sense to call the police is if there are injuries but the other driver is unwilling to provide their insurance information. And definitely, if the driver flees the scene of the crash, calling the police is important. If you are able, you should try to identify their license plate number and take that down to supply law enforcement. Fleeing an accident scene is unlawful in Mississippi. 

Once you decide to file a claim, you will be able to do so against the other driver that caused your accident for full compensation. This is because, unlike other states where no-fault rules apply, Mississippi is an “at-fault” state.

Speak with a Jackson Auto Accident Attorney Today

When you file your Mississippi car accident claim for compensation all of your damages including your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering, to name a few, can be included. For more information regarding the personal injury claims process in Mississippi and your rights, please call the Jackson auto accident lawyer at the Germany Law Firm, PLLC today to schedule a free consultation at (601) 487-0555. 

The Mississippi statute of limitations only gives you three years from the date of your accident to file a claim. Do not delay in getting the process started.

A Voice For Injured Victims For 40 Years

LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN MISSISSIPPI AND ELSEWHERE

Germany Law Firm PLLC © Copyright 2022. All Rights Reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram