How Much Compensation Can I Receive After a Car Accident?Mississippi Legal News
An unexpected auto accident in Mississippi can leave your finances at serious risk. You could face monetary losses from medical treatments, medications, car repair expenses, and lost wages. Medical bills alone can stack up fast and add up close to thousands of dollars depending on how severe your injuries were. When the car accident was caused by another driver, knowing how to calculate all your damages is vital for your accident claim. A Mississippi auto accidents lawyer can help you do this when you find yourself stuck.
Calculating Car Accident Damages
Car accident damages can be broken down into three main types of compensatory damages. These include economic compensatory damages, noneconomic compensatory damages, and punitive damages. Economic damages can be objectively calculated with proper documentation and evidence.
This is because economic damages involve physical injuries, wage losses from work, and property damages. Your physical injuries can be proven with copies of your medical records that show what injuries you sustained and how much you had to pay for treatments, tests, and doctor visits. Medication costs can be proven with prescriptions and receipts. Lost wages can be calculated with your paystubs. Property damage to your vehicle can be added up with receipts from the car repair shop.
Noneconomic damages are harder to prove because these involve subjective distress, pain and suffering, and loss of enjoyment. Distress is not uncommon after a traumatic accident and is usually proven with witness testimonies, but may also be shown through therapist records and bills. A car accident lawyer can help you figure out ways to prove these damages.
Punitive damages are rare unless the other driver acted with excessive recklessness or committed serious traffic violations. These damages are awarded to punish the other driver.
Mississippi Minimum Car Insurance Rates
Everyone in Mississippi is required by law to carry minimum car insurance to cover them in the event of a traffic accident. The minimum required auto insurance coverage in the State of Mississippi includes:
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Other types of insurance coverage plans are optional, but can help when you experience excessive damages or find yourself the victim of a hit-and-run accident. For example, uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage will cover your damages when you are in an accident with a driver who either does not have auto insurance or does not have enough auto insurance to cover all of your expenses.
Working with an experienced lawyer can help you decrease your liability for the accident to increase how much compensation you could receive from the insurance company.
Auto Accidents Lawyer in Mississippi
Not receiving the compensation you need after a violent car wreck in Mississippi can be frustrating. Some insurance companies will use tactics to prevent you from receiving enough compensation. You can call the Germany Law Firm PLLC at (607) 487-0555 to speak with a Mississippi multi-vehicle accidents attorney for guidance on your claim. We will work with you to collect the evidence and documents you need for a strong defense.