Not everyone realizes how car accidents are investigated in Mississippi by auto insurance companies. Knowing more about this process can be extremely helpful when you are filing an accident claim for compensation. You will know what the insurance company is looking for and when your claim could be rejected. If your accident claim was rejected, then consider talking to a Jackson auto accident lawyer about your options.
When You Must Report a Car Accident in Mississippi
Knowing when you are required to report a car accident is equally important to fully understand the investigation process. Not reporting a car accident when required can lead to legal and liability issues. You could be charged with a misdemeanor and lose your driver’s license.
When it comes to Mississippi car accident reporting, you must report an accident if anyone is injured. This means you, the other driver, any passengers, and anyone else who may have been injured by the accident. Report the accident by calling 911 and making sure the police and paramedics show up.
Be prepared to answer questions about the accident related to:
- When and where the accident occurred
- What caused the accident
- What you were doing leading up to the accident
- The Steps that were taken immediately after the accident
For minor accidents, you will still be required to file a report. You must file a written car accident report with police within 10 days if property damages exceed $250 and someone involved in the accident is hurt but not severely injured.
How the Insurance Company Will Investigate Your Accident Claim
Filing a written accident report or calling the police to file a police report is one of many important steps of the investigation process. Auto insurance companies investigate car accident claims with rigorous standards to avoid being scammed and to save money. The less accident claims insurance agents compensate, the more money the company saves.
The car accident investigation process involves evaluating evidence, comparing evidence, and determining fault. Since Mississippi is an at-fault state, you must prove the other driver was at fault for the accident to be compensated. Your insurance agent will determine this based on evidence like:
- Photos of the accident and injuries
- Documents like police reports and witness statements
- Surveillance footage
- Medical records
- Property damage evidence
Some insurance agents will visit the car accident scene and will inspect your vehicle for damages at the repair shop. They will request more information from you as needed if they find a lack of support for your story. If you have any concerns about this, try contacting a Jackson auto accident lawyer for advice. A lawyer can help you dispute decisions made by the insurance company.
Auto Accident Lawyer in Jackson
Going through the process of filing a car accident claim can be frustrating. Reach out to the Germany Law Firm, PLLC by dialing (607) 487-0555 to speak with a Mississippi multi-vehicle accident attorney for a consultation today. Our experienced team of car accident lawyers can help you seek compensation for your lost wages, pain and suffering, and medical expenses.