Common Fallacies Concerning Mississippi Auto Accident Claims

Common Fallacies Concerning Mississippi Auto Accident Claims

Nobody ever intends on being involved in a car accident, so it follows that the resulting financial damages are also always unexpected. Even those who have great health insurance, that will cover their emergency medical treatments, the financial toll that comes with being unable to work for weeks or maybe even months after the accident could pose a threat to the whole family’s economic well-being.

Based on research conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the medical expenses that are associated with car accident-related fatalities in the state of Mississippi totaled out to $7 million in just one year. The affiliated costs of being temporarily or permanently out of work were a shocking $854 million. These totals draw attention to the fact that medical attention embodies only a small portion of the financial damages that could be caused by sustaining an injury during a car accident.

Luckily, crash victims and their families are legally entitled to seek financial compensation for all of their economic losses from the party deemed responsible for their accident. 

Listed below are a few of the more common fallacies concerning car accident claims in Mississippi:

Reporting Your Car Accident Is Voluntary

Common Fallacies Concerning Mississippi Auto Accident Claims

Drivers in the state of Mississippi are legally obligated to notify the police of any vehicle collision that results in death, injury, or property damage of at least $250. Should everyone involved in the collision agree that it is minor, neglecting to report it is still a misdemeanor charge that could earn all parties a suspended driver’s license.

Your Insurance Policy Will Cover All of Your Damages

Simply discovering that the person responsible for the crash has car insurance should not be construed as meaning your financial settlement is guaranteed or is going to come easily. On top of that, their insurance policy might not be big enough to cover every single one of your damages. In Mississippi, drivers are only expected to carry $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage.

If you or a member of your family has been involved in a car accident, attorneys at Germany Law Firm, PLLC are in your corner. We have the experience and the knowledge necessary to help you obtain the financial compensation to which you are entitled. 

After almost four decades of legal practice, our skilled, Mississippi-based attorneys know exactly what it takes to win your case. Our attorneys are proud of their outstanding performance histories and distinguished reputations.

If you have recently been injured due to the negligence of another driver, then we firmly encourage you to speak with a qualified Mississippi personal injury attorney by giving us a call at (601) 487-0555 and scheduling an appointment for a  free case evaluation so that we can advise you on the best course of legal action for your situation.