Can You Sue More than Once on the Same Mississippi Personal Injury Claim?

Can You Sue More than Once on the Same Mississippi Personal Injury Claim?

Let’s say that you believe another party’s actions lead to an incident that caused you harm. You decide to take legal action against that party. The details of your case, how your case is handled, and if you have professional legal support on your side will all be important factors that will affect the outcome of your case. 

It is possible to take someone to court and lose. Losing a legal suit is not an ideal outcome for a plaintiff, yet it does happen. This is why it is critical that if you believe that another party is liable for damages you suffered, you should speak with a local personal injury attorney right away. In the state of Mississippi, Bob Germany is a Jackson personal injury attorney that can provide you with proficient legal counsel and help you with your claim.

Is it Possible to Sue Multiple Times on the Same Claim?

Can You Sue More Than Once on the Same ClaimRes judicata law or claim preclusion is a law that states that when a final judgment in a case has been rendered, it can not be adjudicated again. When a competent court makes a determination in a case on its merits, further litigation will be barred from happening on the same matter. So if you bring about a suit against another party and the outcome is not in your favor, that matter is closed.

Even if you disagree with the court’s decision, res judicata makes it so you cannot take the same party back to court on the same allegations. The reason that res judicata exists is that in a civilized society the courts must have power that is respected and final. It is necessary that when the courts make a decision it is with certainty and with resolution.

In some situations, if there was a procedural legal error in your case, filing for an appeal of the decision could happen. There is a timeframe for when an appeal can be filed and while it varies by state, it typically is not that long after a judgment is rendered. Mississippi’s appeal period is:

  • When a judgment has been made or order passed down there are 30 days to file a Notice of Appeal.
  • When a filing of the notice of appeal by another party takes place, there are 14 days to file.
  • When the entry of an order denying specific motions to take place after a case has concluded, an appeal must be filed within 30 days.

Other times, requesting a re-trial could happen. Granting these requests for a re-trial is not something that happens often.

Speak with a Mississippi Personal Injury Attorney Today

When you work with an attorney to file your lawsuit, you are in the best position for the most ideal outcome. This is true in Mississippi and across the country. Without a Jackson personal injury lawyer, you risk losing your case. This usually means that you will not be able to file another suit against the same party for the same claim. To learn more about your Mississippi personal injury claim and your options for compensation, call Germany Law Firm, PLLC to schedule a free consultation at (601) 487-0555.