Brandon, MS (May 28, 2022) - A man was placed under arrest after he fled from police causing a high-speed pursuit that came to an abrupt end when he collided with two tractor-trailers and a mini-van on Wednesday, May 25th.
The suspect, a resident of Pearl, was apprehended at about 5:30 p.m. after troopers with the Mississippi Highway Patrol attempted to stop the speeding driver on Highway 80 in the area of Star Road in Rankin County.
Instead of stopping, the car, which police say was driven by the suspect, increased its speed and plowed into two tractor-trailers and a mini-van just outside of Florence.
Several victims, including the suspect, sustained non-critical injuries during the impact.
Our thoughts are with the injured victim and their family at this time. We hope for their full recovery.
Fault for Car Accidents in Mississippi
Mississippi is a fault-based state that supports a compensation system founded on pure comparative negligence.
Comparative negligence policies assign each person involved in any type of accident a percentage of fault. Then, based on that percentage, financial compensation is awarded proportionally in accordance with each party’s degree of liability for the accident.
Pure comparative negligence laws permit a party to bring a claim for injuries they received in a car accident and collect recovery for those losses even if they were partly or mostly liable for causing it.
The assignation of fault is a partial defense. This means it does not wholly absolve the respondent of guilt, and it will reduce the amount of compensation awarded. This is because the laws governing pure comparative negligence allow some losses to be awarded with no consideration given to fault. The dollar amount of that award, however, will be reduced based on the party’s percentage of fault for the accident.
In other words, a victim can collect financial compensation for injuries they received in a car crash even if they were found to be 80% responsible.
If you were hurt in a Mississippi car accident, we strongly suggest that you start the claims process immediately. By Mississippi law, you have 10 days to file a written report with law enforcement if the damages caused by that accident are valued at more than $250.
If you experienced significant injuries caused by the recklessness, negligence, or misconduct of another person, we are here to assess your potential personal injury claim. Contact our Mississippi personal injury attorneys by calling our law offices at (601) 487-0555 to schedule a case evaluation.
Note: The information provided within these posts has been gathered from outside sources, for Germany Law Firm, PLLC, and, as such, has not been independently verified. All provided information has been gathered from secondary sources including news bulletins and other first-hand accounts. If you find any information that is incorrect or you would like this post to be removed, please contact our law firm immediately so that we can correct the story or remove it entirely from the website.
Disclaimer: At Germany Law Firm, PLLC, we provide the information found in these accident reports as a resource for families who have been in similar situations and to raise awareness about the dangers of driving. We would also like to honor the victims who have been injured or lost their life as a result of a Mississippi accident and hope that the information reported will help prevent future accidents. The photographs depicted in these posts are not representative of the actual accident scene.