Car accident reports are something some people would think are public records, but this depends on the state. Some states may leave car accident reports open to the public while others invoke penalties for doing so. This leaves many people who have suffered during a Mississippi car accident wondering whether they will have easy access to such reports. Consider talking to a Mississippi auto accident lawyer if you are having trouble accessing your accident report.
Are Mississippi Car Accident Records Public?
One of the most important things you should know is whether you can legally gain access to a car accident report. The Mississippi car accident report laws only allow certain people access to such reports. You can gain access to an accident report in Mississippi if you are:
- A person who was directly involved in the accident
- One of the passengers involved in the accident
- Next of kin to a person who was in the accident
- Are legally representing someone from the accident
- An auto insurance agent
Anyone else who attempts to knowingly gain access when they are not permitted to could face legal consequences. These consequences are not mild in Mississippi. Some legal consequences someone could face include:
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Jail time of up to six months
No one wants to deal with expensive fines or jail time, let alone a misdemeanor on their record. If you need a car accident report for an accident claim but are not sure if you are allowed legal access, contact a Mississippi accident lawyer. A lawyer can also help you with filing your accident claim and collecting other necessary evidence.
Do I Need a Car Accident Report?
Many people wonder if they really need a car accident report after their accident. This depends on what you want. If you want compensation to help pay for some of the medical bills and other expenses caused by the accident, then you need an accident report. A copy of the accident report will be required by the insurance company you file your claim with.
There are other situations where the accident might be minor. This leaves other people wondering if they need to file a report. Knowing when to file a Mississippi car accident report is somewhat simple. You need to file a report when anyone is injured or if property damages go over $250 for a vehicle or other damages. Not filing a report also comes with legal consequences:
- Misdemeanor charges
- Suspension of your driver’s license
Again, if you are unsure what you should do in this situation, then feel free to call a car accident lawyer for help.
Auto Accident Lawyer in Mississippi
Putting together a car accident claim is not as always as it seems. Call the Germany Law Firm, PLLC today by dialing (607) 487-0555 to talk to a Gulfport multi-vehicle accident attorney to run through your legal options. Our dedicated team of Mississippi car accident lawyers might be able to help you obtain compensation for medical bills, pain, and suffering, and lost income. You can find us in Jackson, Madison, Gulfport, Oxford, and other cities in Mississippi.